www.low-stud-poker-seven.com
Third Street ->> Faq Third Street

FAQ: THIRD STREET

Before a learner moves on to learn about play on the fourth street, he/she should take this ten-question quiz to test his/her knowledge of correct third street play.

If one finds any questions too difficult, remember that all the information they would need to answer them is contained in this chapter. Answers have been provided directly after the questions.

1. You had held pocket jacks with a deuce on the board and were the bring-in bet. Would you have brought it in for a dollar or the full amount?

Ans: You should have bet the full amount. You had a good starting hand. You would have wanted to force out other drawing hands early on so they wouldn’t have given you trouble down the line.

2. You had pocket jacks and a 5 on the board and were in late position. The bring-in had brought it in for a dollar, there were five callers, and it was to you. Would you have called or completed the betting to two dollars?

Ans: Complete it. Yes, at the low limits with only a dollar to call many of the players would have stayed in – they’ve had some money in the pot and wouldn’t want to be pushed around.If you thought there was absolutely no chance that anybody would fold, you could have simply called. Most of the time, though, you would want to complete it in this situation. That would have warned other players that you had something and even if you had forced out just one player, that would have been one fewer drawing hand that you had to worry about.

3. You had rolled up treys and were in middle position. A player had been holding a queen and raised the bring-in bet to two dollars, and it was to you. Would you have called or raised?

Ans: Raise. Conventional wisdom says you should have called to keep as many players in as possible whenever you started out with trips. With a lower set (such as treys), though, you should have raised it to four dollars. You would have force some people out. Better to have had the competition out of the way now so if the trips didn’t improve, someone wouldn’t outdraw you.

4. You had the 10 of diamonds, 8 of diamonds, and 5 of diamonds, and you’d seen two other diamonds on the board. It was a dollar to call – would you have stayed in?

Ans: Call. Calling would have been the right decision, but proceed with caution. As play progressed, you would have wanted your cards to be as live as possible, because your hand was not that big. With just two of your needed suits having been gone, calling was the right decision.

5. You had the king of diamonds, the ace of diamonds, and the jack of diamonds, and you had seen three other diamonds on the board but no kings or aces. It was one dollar to you to stay in-would you?

Ans : Call. With three of your needed suit already gone, folding would have been a good idea, but not here. Here you’d have had big, live cards to go along with your three-flush.

6. You had three-to-a-straight – a 4, a 5, and a 6, and you were in late position. The bring-in bet was raised by a queen and then re-raised by an ace, making it four dollars by the time it got to you. All of your 3s and 7s were live. Would you have called?

Ans : Fold. With just one dollar to call, it was fine to call this bet. But with four dollars to call, well, all you would have had was a lousy small three-straight. You would have been going up against a probable big pair. It would have been better to be the big pair than you at this point, so fold the hand.

7. You had held a split pair of 5s and a 7 for a kicker, and you were in early position. One 5 had been gone, and a queen, a king and an ace were yet to act. It was one dollar to you to call. Would you have stayed in or folded?

Ans : Fold. Yes, you had a pair, but it was a small pair with one card already gone. Only one card could have improved you to trips, and a two pair here, being so small, would have been worthless. Calling would have just gotten you into trouble down the line, so you should have waited until you had a better hand.

8. You had pocket aces and a jack on the board. One ace was dead, and a queen on the board had completed the bring-in to two dollars. Would you have called or raised?

Ans : Raise. One of your aces may have been dead, but you had a good kicker, your aces were hidden, and you would want to force out as many players as possible. Ideally it would be just you and the player who completed the betting for the fourth street.

9. You had a suited ace and king in the hole, and a 10 of another suit for your door card. The bring-in was completed to two dollars by a jack. Would you have stayed-in?

Ans : Fold. This was a trick question of sorts for hold’em players. Any hold’em player would have known that holding a suited ace and king in the hole was very valuable. In stud those cards were not nearly as valuable. Here you had three decent cards, but no pair, no three flush, and no three-straight. The betting had already been completed to two dollars. Rather than put two dollars in the pot, you should have waited until you had something better to work with – you wouldn’t want to go up against a probable pair of queens from the start.

10.You had a split pair of 4s with an ace kicker. No other 4s were dead, and you were in middle position. It was a dollar to you, and several face cards were yet to act. Would you have folded, called, or raised?

Ans : Call. On the third street, there wouldn’t be too much banging away at low limits, even from face cards. It was only a dollar to you, your cards were live, and you already had a pair with a good kicker to go along with it. You should have tried to make trips or a good two pair on the fourth street, so you should have gone ahead and called.